Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Press Releases

Rubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown to win 2015 Lee Lynch Classic Award

Tuesday, February 3, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |

Contact: Liz Gibson, Executive Director


Rubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown to win

2015 Lee Lynch Classic Award

DALLAS, TX, Feb. 3, 2015 – Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS) is pleased to announce thatRubyfruit Jungle by bestselling author Rita Mae Brown (Bantam Press) has been selected as the 2015 winner of the coveted Lee Lynch Classic Book Award.  The award will be presented at the Annual GCLS Literary Awards Ceremony, July 25, 2015 in New Orleans, during the GCLS Annual Literary Conference.

Brown’s first novel, Rubyfruit Jungle, is still in print over 40 years since its original publication date in 1973. She has spent her life as both a writer and a political activist, who was known for her outspokenness about the need for recognition and inclusion of lesbians in the feminist movement. Brown is the author of more than 40 novels, two collections of poetry and nine screenplays.

"Rubyfruit Jungle was a trailblazing literary coup at publication. Born of Rita Mae Brown’s radical feminism, social consciousness and humor, it was the right book at the right time then and continues to seduce lesbian readers well into the 21st century,” says trailblazing author Lee Lynch.

“In Rubyfruit Jungle, Rita Mae Brown has given us all the gift of a brilliant, brave, and witty superstar—an iconic character who burst upon the scene right when we needed her most. Moly Bolt will continue to amuse and inspire women for generations to come,” says Ann Bannon, who is known for her classic lesbian novels of the 1950s and 60s.

Award winning author and editor Katherine V. Forrest says, "In her high spirited, unforgettable depiction of the gutsy, confident Molly Bolt, a lesbian fiercely and wondrously herself, Rita Mae Brown not only gave us our first lesbian heroine, she gave us gay pride before we had the words."

Presented by the only literary organization dedicated to lesbian literature, the GCLS rewards quality lesbian literature with GCLS Literary Awards (aka “The Goldies”) in thirteen genre categories, two popular choice categories, and three special awards (Trailblazer Award, Lee Lynch Classic Book Award, and Directors’ Award).  For more information on the GCLS Literary Awards, visit

The GCLS annual conference offers Workshops and Master Classes in the craft of writing; sessions and panels on a wide range of topics of interest to readers, writers and editors; author readings and chats; and their awards ceremony that honors books across all genres of lesbian fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction.  The 2015 conference theme is “Engaging the Reader” and the genre highlighted will be Paranormal. Many of the top authors of lesbian literature along with major lesbian publishing companies attend the conference, along with their readers and fans.

The 2015 GCLS conference will be held at the Hilton Riverside in New Orleans. For more information or to register, please visit:

About the Golden Crown Literary Society  ( )

The Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS) is the largest non-profit organization dedicated to education and the promotion and recognition of lesbian literature. Its goals are: to provide learning opportunities, encouragement and assistance to new and established authors in developing their craft; to support and strengthen quality lesbian writing by providing educational programs and creating opportunities for readers and writers to interact; and to recognize and promote lesbian literature.

2018 Tee Corinne Finalists

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal