Sandra Moran Scholarship
Sandra Moran Scholarship

Two-time Goldie winner Sandra Moran (December 20, 1968–November 7, 2015) was a writer, a scholar, a mentor, and an educator. She was known and beloved for her keen intellect, her quick wit, her engaging personality, and her willingness to teach, talk, travel, and share the best and brightest of our stories and shared histories with a broad range of audiences. Sandra’s work as an author and ambassador opened countless new channels of accessibility for readers of LGBTQ fiction. Through her writing and by her example, she adopted themes and explored ideas that illustrated the ways we are bound to each other while revealing the historical, spiritual, and ideological differences that have conspired to keep us apart.

A native Kansan, she worked professionally as a newspaper journalist, a political speechwriter, an archaeological tour manager, and an adjunct professor of anthropology. She authored five notable and award-winning works of fiction: Letters Never Sent, Nudge, The Addendum, (a companion piece to Nudge), All We Lack and, State of Grace.

Sandra was a conscientious steward of her time and talents and gave back selflessly and generously to this, and many other, communities. Her legacy as one of our best emissaries of serious lesbian fiction is celebrated by the award of this prestigious Writing Academy scholarship established in her name.


The Sandra Moran Scholarship will be awarded each year to one student of the GCLS Writing Academy. The scholarship will cover tuition for the one year program. Applicants for the Sandra Moran Scholarship must also submit an application for the Writing Academy and be accepted into the program.

Each scholarship recipient will be expected to complete the program, as well as give back to the literary community.

Applications will be reviewed by the Sandra Moran Scholarship committee. Following this review, applicants will be narrowed to no more than 3 finalists. Finalist applications and writing samples will then be reviewed by a guest juror who will provide feedback and rate the applications. The scholarship recipient will be selected based on the combined feedback of the guest juror and the scholarship committee.

The scholarship recipient will be announced at the Annual Conference during the Membership Meeting.


Each applicant must complete the following:

  • Application for admittance to the GCLS Writing Academy
  • Acceptance to the GCLS Writing Academy
  • Sandra Moran Scholarship application
  • Submit a 15-20 page writing sample of your best lesfic/queer women/wlw literature. (Recent, not previously published)


All applications must be submitted by April 1. The committee will make a decision by June and the recipient will be announced at the GCLS annual conference in July.


If you have questions regarding the Sandra Moran Scholarship or the application process, please email the Sandra Moran Scholarship Committee at


We are able to award this scholarship because of generous donors. The Sandra Moran Scholarship Fund is a permanent GCLS fund. Monies raised for this fund are used strictly for the Sandra Moran Scholarship. Please consider donating to the Sandra Moran Scholarship fund so that we can continue Sandra's legacy. Donations are tax deductible. To donate, please click HERE.

2020 Goldie Winners

Contact Us

Golden Crown Literary Society
P.O. Box 720154
Dallas, TX 75372

Connect With Us